Pollard Hotel

The Rocky Fork Coal Company constructed this hotel, originally the Spofford, which welcomed its first guests on July 4, 1893. This architectural landmark, built before the commercial district was platted, originally had its main entrance on 11th Street, which was the busy roadway leading to the Eastside coal mines. Early guests included Buffalo Bill Cody, Calamity Jane, and William Jennings Bryan. In 1903, an annex added twenty-five guest rooms and the Golden Rule Store. By 1907, the entrance was relocated to Broadway. The Pollard’s commercial space housed the post office, a bank, and other tenants, and it soon became a primary business and social center. Today the brick walls chart a century of remodeling and change.

Images

Pollard Hotel, streetview

Pollard Hotel, streetview

Still image capture of the hotel located at 11th and Broadway. Streetview looking to the northwest. Number 41. b&w print. | Source: Official records of the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, Helena, Montana | Creator: Kommers, McLaughlin, & Leavengood, Architects 120 E. Callender, Livingston, Montana 59047 View File Details Page

Pollard Hotel, streetview

Pollard Hotel, streetview

Still image capture of Broadway with view to northeast and hotel located at 12th and Broadway. Number 45. b&w print. | Source: Official records of the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, Helena, Montana | Creator: Kommers, McLaughlin, & Leavengood, Architects 120 E. Callender, Livingston, Montana 59047 View File Details Page

Access Information:

private

Street Address:

2 North Broadway, Red Lodge, Montana [map]

Cite this Page:

The Montana National Register Sign Program, “Pollard Hotel ,” Explore Big – Montana's Historic Places, accessed June 24, 2017, http://explorebig.org/items/show/141.

Tags

Share this Story