Smith Saloon

Constructed during Wibaux’s transition period from a cattle town into an agricultural center, this Queen Anne commercial style building originally housed the Smith Saloon. Partners William H. Smith, John R. Cornell, and W. H. North built the saloon between 1904 and 1906 and later sold the business to W. H. Rucker, who operated it until 1917 when he sold the property to the State Bank of Yates. Renamed the Wibaux County Bank, it operated out of here until its failure. In 1923, Wibaux County purchased the building for use as the county courthouse and jail. Since 1952, the City Hall and the public library have occupied the space. The Smith Saloon is an excellent example of early-twentieth-century commercial architecture, with front parapet and battlements, corner pilasters, a tiered belt course with modillions, recessed doorway, and a concrete hood with ornamental concrete support brackets. A primary structure in the historic district, the building remains as the best representative of early Wibaux County government.

Images

Smith Saloon

Smith Saloon

1. Wibaux Historic Commercial District Smith Saloon 2. Wibaux, MT 3. William A. Babcock, Jr. 4. June 1987 5. Montana State Historic Preservation Office, Helena MT 6. East/southeast 7. 12 [verso] b&w print | Source: Official records of the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, Helena, Montana | Creator: William A. Babcock, Jr. View File Details Page

Access Information:

public

Street Address:

Wibaux, Montana [map]

Cite this Page:

The Montana National Register Sign Program, “Smith Saloon,” Explore Big – Montana's Historic Places, accessed April 23, 2017, http://explorebig.org/items/show/2137.

Tags

Tour navigation:  Previous | Tour Info | Next

Share this Story