Orphan Girl Mine

From the time it was located in 1875 until it was purchased by Marcus Daly and associates in 1879, ownership of fractional shares in the Orphan Girl Mine changed hands faster than the ante in a poker game. The Orphan Girl eventually operated to a depth of over 3,000 feet. While not a huge producer according to Butte standards, by 1944 hardrock miners had removed a respectable 7,626,540 ounces of silver as well as lead and zinc from her depths. Cool temperatures between 55 and 65 degrees made the Orphan Girl—affectionately nicknamed “Orphan Annie” or “the Girl”—a desirable place to work unlike some “hot boxes” where temperatures could top 100 degrees. By the end of the 1920s, the Anaconda Company owned the Girl which operated until the 1950s. In 1965, the Girl became the site of the World Museum of Mining. Each year this unique museum hosts visitors from every continent, fulfilling its mission to preserve the history of mining and the rich cultural heritage of attendant mining communities.

Images

World Museum of Mining (Orphan Girl Mine Headframe)

World Museum of Mining (Orphan Girl Mine Headframe)

(verso unavailable) | Source: Official records of the Montana State Historic Preservation Office, Helena, Montana | Creator: Unidentified photographer View File Details Page

Access Information:

private

Street Address:

West of Butte, Montana [map]

Cite this Page:

The Montana National Register Sign Program, “Orphan Girl Mine,” Explore Big – Montana's Historic Places, accessed March 24, 2017, http://explorebig.org/items/show/36.

Related Tours

Tags

Tour navigation:  Previous | Tour Info | Next

Share this Story