These two turn-of-the-twentieth-century wood-frame commercial buildings with a tiny shop sandwiched in between today share one façade. In 1900, Biagio Sconfienza opened a bakery in the one-story building. In 1903, as the business prospered, Biagio purchased the two-story building, formerly a plumbing shop, as a rental property. He then built the diminutive shop between the two buildings, which originally displayed C. Cottino’s terra cotta and then housed Filomino’s Tin Shop. For many years, the Sconfienza family tempted passersby with Italian delicacies displayed in their bakery storefront. Four ovens and a two-story bake house added to the back between 1901 and 1927 provide a unique construction history chronicling the Montana Bakery’s long-term success. The Italian bakery tradition continued from 1938 to 1947, under the ownership of Steve and Verna Buffo, who renamed the business Treasure State Bakery.